Unchained Melody

Unchained Melody is my parent’s lovey-dovey song and will always hold a special place in my heart. It is a 1955 song and according to Wikipedia has “spawned over 500 versions in hundreds of different languages.” It was in July of 1965 when the Righteous Brothers recorded the song and became so popular when it was used as soundtrack for the movie “Ghost”.

I remembered my Dad recorded his version, put it in a 45′ record as a gift to Mom. It was fascinating to me as a child, my Father crooning with his great, booming voice and it was coming out of this small black thing when played in a turntable! It was the highlight of my growing up years, and has left me with a good feeling that love songs sung by a person in love is truly wonderful to hear.

Imagine my surprise when browsing along youtube, I came across this new version by Susan Boyle. I emailed my Mom a link to youtube so she and Dad can hear the song once more. I know they will be delighted by my find!

Categories: Family, Inspirational Musings | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Unchained Melody

  1. It’s a classic song for that generation. My parents love it, too! Your dad’s vinyl is such an awesome gift idea.

  2. Nice rendition! I like this song too 🙂

  3. All.. So BEAUTIFUL! 8)

  4. What a beautiful love story about your mom and dad. I’m sure they will enjoy this version by Susan – she did a fantastic job. I remember singing this song by the Righteous Brothers back in the day, even though I was too young to have a love interest. LOL. I just loved to sing and songs back then were so easy to sing with. Their version remains my favorite because I can not hear it without thinking of them. Beautiful post! Thanks for the memories. 🙂

    • Thank you! I love this song and when I hear it, I also remember Dad’s voice singing…:p
      Susan Boyle did a good job, I do agree, especially the high note!

Hearing from all of you made my day...@))-->>>------

Blog at WordPress.com.

