Weekly Writing Challenge: Mind the Gap {Facebook:What Will I Do With You?}

Seriously, yes.

Seriously, yes.

I can still remember the first time I got an invitation from a friend to try out this new thing called Facebook, which I did, back in September 5, 2007.  In a dazed, I find myself staring into a wall which I don’t know what to make of. Most of the people I know were in Multiply, so it was just me and my friend talking and sharing : HATCHING EGGS.

Hatching Eggs

Hatching Eggs

Things got better and suddenly, boom! Facebook was buzzing with life and drama. Think of information overload and you have it right there, in the literal writing on the walls of my friends and relatives! Facebook has revolutionized how we share with the world. The dorky and quiet friends that I used to know are having a coming-out of everything in their lives. Talk about soiled laundry!

As things progressed through the years, I saw my daughters getting less sociable and talking less on the phone. I, too , found myself enjoying not being personal with a lot of people in my circle. Facebook, being the top social media had made the human race cocoon and retreat into the private place of their laptops, tablets and phones. Behind our screened gadgets is the security and safety of a “happy world.”

Purging our friends’ lists has become a way of life. That “UNFRIEND” button has become a useful tool of ridding ourselves of nuisance kins, acquaintances and soul sisters  in the name of technology. It’s fast, painless and a “no-brainer.”

Soon, everyone was having a glorious and blissful life splashed in pictures, videos and status messages. If this is to be believed, then I am turning out to be the most miserable person in the planet. While everyone was sipping drinks in tropical beaches and parading their latest cars, bags and gadgets, I am at my desk working and looking through their fancy photos showing their exciting lives. Poor me!

As I soon learned, Facebook will always be a mask for each one of us. While some people are truly and genuinely happy with their lives, the other half are all struggling to make their lives an envy to their peers and enemies. Stuck in our everyday, mundane lives, we learn to cope by a thick layer of sugar coating.

But I  must say, not everything is in a darker shade of  black, because I had found long lost friends and classmates all over the world. Connecting with them made me discover the things in myself that I had lost in my youth. Remembering places and events that we were together in the past elicited much laughter and joy for everyone of us.

Facebook, you had inadvertently changed the world…nothing will ever be the same.

Not only had  you changed the people I know…you had also, sadly, changed me.

Cold turkey. Just do it.

Cold turkey.
Just do it.

Categories: Inspirational Musings, Weekly Writing Challenge | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Weekly Writing Challenge: Mind the Gap {Facebook:What Will I Do With You?}

  1. Pingback: Facebook Leads to Competition |

  2. Pingback: FACEBOOK: TO POKE OR TO PUKE? | Aurora Morealist

  3. OMG you said it so well: “not being personal.” THAT is the entire problem, there is so much control on there, we cannot even “personalize” any longer. Here’s my three pennies worth of opinion in a poem http://auroramorealist.wordpress.com/2013/07/08/facebook-to-poke-or-to-puke/

  4. You spoke my heart and mind about Facebook 🙂 I still have friends who are “off the grid” and I think they may have made the better choice sometimes. But the introvert me will probably not give up Facebook anytime soon 🙂

  5. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Mind the gap | A couple of dollars

  6. Love your article thank yiu for sharing with your readers 🙂

  7. i like the first photo quote. 🙂

Hearing from all of you made my day...@))-->>>------

Blog at WordPress.com.

