Weekly Photo Challenge: Nostalgic

Our First Day of School

Our First Day of School

“If I could save time in a bottle
The first thing that I’d like to do
Is to save every day
Till Eternity passes away
Just to spend them with you.
 
If I could make days last forever
If words could make wishes come true
I’d save every day like a treasure and then,
Again, I would spend them with you.”

In ten months, my daughter Trisha will be graduating  in College. Nothing can replace this image in my mind of our first day of school.  She in her clean, crisp uniform and red Hello Kitty roller bag…me in my tattered heart, fluttering with worry of letting go.

And letting go, I must if, only to make sure that the journey continues unhampered by hands who mean well and love much, yet can pull back and restrict.

I often wondered if I spent quality time with my children. Did we play enough? Laughed often? Made drawings of potato-head people and clay figures as much as we wanted?

Looking back and seeing my life measured in milestones and little steps, huge strides and occasional fall backs, I can’t help but see, that there is no reason for regret. Or sadness. Everything is as it should be.

And we are going to be alright.

{For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. ~ Jeremiah 29:11}

Categories: Family, Inspirational Musings, Photo Challenge | Tags: , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Nostalgic

  1. Pingback: Photography and Free Verse: Nostalgia | Bastet and Sekhmet

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Nostalgic | Denis Danze Photographe Freelance

  3. Pingback: Photography and Poetry: Nostalgia | Bastet and Sekhmet

  4. ps – you may love this as a memorial to what children are all about 😉

  5. What a perfect nostalgia. We can’t go back as much as we might like to, can we?

    Thank you for the mention . . .

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Nostalgic (Valletta) | What's (in) the picture?

  7. Oh Wow… What a wonderful memory 🙂 We never seem to have enough time to play with our children once the school years kick in. All too soon it will be time to release the ties on our Son as he moves to Secondary School. Then he will have to make a choice – further education or work… I’ll support him but give him space to make some choices himself as he did with Secondary School. I hope your daughter graduates well and has a great future 🙂

    • Thank you! All we have left are good memories. But in going forward, we will have more treasured moments to build, isn’t it?
      😀

Hearing from all of you made my day...@))-->>>------

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

